Loving the Brits

History Boys DVD

I finally saw “The History Boys” last night. I can’t help but love and admire the hefty Richard Griffiths and the formidable Frances De La Tour. It was so good to see them in action outside of the Potter franchise. :) Except for his roving hands, Griffiths’s Hector embodies the kind of teacher I’ve always wanted to have and admired. He’s so flawed and slightly pathetic, yet endearing and admirable. I adore De La Tour’s understated yet fiery Mrs. Lintott (“What is history? History is women following behind (men) with the bucket.“) The whole cast is brilliant, actually. The main attraction of the movie, at least for me, is the acting. There’s nothing contrived about their performances; their chemistry felt natural and real. I guess it helped that they were all in the Tony award-winning play together. The movie plays the soundtrack of my life. I love it! And… ahh… the witty dialogue. It’s wordy and clever and wise–just my kind of thing. (Weird note: It made me want to have kids just so I could send them to British schools and get their damn A-Levels! Pathetic).

The best moments in reading are when you come across something–a thought, a feeling, a way of looking at things—which you had thought special and particular to you. Now here it is, set down by someone else, a person you have never met, someone even who is along dead. And it is as if a hand has come out and taken yours.” (Hector to Posner)

And speaking of reading, here’s another thing I’m loving right now: the Vintage Twins Series. I’m addicted to it, really. It’s brilliant, how can you not fall for it. The concept got me curious (“The greatest books of ALL time twinned with the greatest books of OUR time”), the covers made me drool, and the roster of authors sealed the deal. I have most of the books in the collection already, but I don’t mind getting this edition. That’s clever marketing doing it’s magic on a sucker like me! HAH! I started with Vintage Lust (of course!) and then I moved on to Vintage Youth. I’m gearing up for Vintage Sin and Vintage Lies next. I swear I love books!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

