Petri Dish

Just woke up from my nap and I feel the bridge of my nose and my cheeks throbbing. Uh-oh.

I went to the hospital yesterday for a routine check up. Okay, maybe not-so-routine for some people, but nothing out of the ordinary for me. It’s been ages since I’ve been there. Much to my doctors dismay (and they are many), I have been steering clear of that place for quite some time. I really should go back and have my check ups when they tell me to, but I just feel more sick whenever I step inside the premises. Better to stay away and ignore their constant nagging.

But I had to go and, as expected, I feel a bit sniffy today. Maybe it’s all in my head or I picked up a bug while I was waiting for my turn to pay for the tests. Hospitals are nasty places for healthy people; it’s a petri dish full of malevolent microorganisms ready and eager to pounce and cling to you at any time. My eyes are starting to water and I had a coughing spell a minute ago. I cannot afford to get sick! I’m watching Harry Potter first thing tomorrow morning!!!

Hah. Priorities… But seriously, I hope this is all in my head. I really don’t want to get sick. I know what happens when I get a simple cold—-it transforms into something else and I get stuck in bed for a month. So this better be just a manifestation of my paranoia. I am so tempted to pop a pill to prevent the cold virus from developing, but I’m scared it might do more damage than good; it might excite my already confused immune system. That would be tragic. I’ll just have to wait it out and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

