Down to the wire

It will be all decided tonight. Will it be Real Madrid, FC Barcelona, or Sevilla?

I hate to admit it, but I am actually enjoying this. We haven’t seen an “ending” to the Spanish Football League as exciting as this for a looong, loooong time. The winning team usually dominates the group and the table and is proclaimed winner weeks before the official last day of the season. This time around it is different. Madrid is on top, followed by Barcelona, and then Sevilla. Madrid and Barcelona have equal points, but Madrid has an advantage over the Catalans on head-to-head goal average. Sevilla is only 2 points behind both teams. The whole of Spain and football fans all over the world will be chomping on their nails and will be glued to the tele tonight. You bet I’ll be one of them!

I am praying for Barça to win against Gimnàstic de Tarragona (A Catalan team that will be relegated to the second division next year), Madrid to draw or lose against Mallorca (Eleventh placer but held Sevilla to a 0-0 draw last week; they can do it again this weekend!), and Sevilla to also draw or lose against Villareal (6th in the table). I believe, I believe, I believe.

I can imagine the Culés (loyal Barcelona fans) celebrating in front of the Font de Canalletes on Las Ramblas as I did in 2005. I believe, I believe, I believe.

Barcelona could have won their 3rd consecutive league title last weekend (Sevilla drew, Madrid was losing but drew in the last minute, and Barça was winning but Espanyol drew in the final second), but winning this weekend would be so much better. Their victory would be so much sweeter.

Jugadors,
seguidors,
tots units fem força
son molts anys plens d’afanys
son molts gols que hem cridat
i s’ha demostrat, s’ha demostrat
que mai ningú no ens podrà tòrcer
blaugrana al vent,
un crit valent
tenim un nom,
el sap tothom

BARÇA ! BARÇA ! BARÇA !
Visca Barça! Let the games begin.

Leave a Reply

