Silly Girl

My sister is pregnant. I found out about this from my mother, who relayed the great news to me in hushed tones as I walked through the door. I felt like Frodo to her Gandalf. “Why are we whispering?” I murmured back at her. She just giggled. Did I accidentally walk into the Big Brother house? Are the dogs not supposed to know? My brother, who phoned me later on that day, said that it was chismis effect, that she wanted it to come out like she was gossiping, and that she was the first one to score the scoop.

I swear, silliness runs in our family. My mother should come out in Woody Allen’s next film. Love it! I’m going to start calling her Scarlett.

Leave a Reply

